How Do I look? cGPA:3.50 sGPA: 3.42 MCAT:24

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

newjersey2013

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, everyone! I am thinking about applying this upcoming cycle to an Osteopathic medical program. I am a little curious as to where I stand right now (especially with my MCAT), and if I should hold off until applying next year?

Currently: I am dual enrolled with a BS in Biology and BS in Psychology. I am an EMT-B (NJ) with roughly 600 volunteer hours total for the past few years. I shadowed an anesthesiologist (DO) for 20 hours and got a letter of recommendation from him. I also have a Health Profession Committee letter from my university. I have been told my personal statement is very strong and original.

as stated in the title:
cGPA: 3.50
sGPA: 3.42
in-major Biology: 3.64
in-major psychology: 3.76
MCAT: 24 (7p/9v/8b)

I also have a very strong upward trend:
Freshman year: 3.2
Sophomore year: 3.6
Junior year: 3.84
Senior year: ~3.80

I am a NJ resident.

I would be applying on June 1st to pretty much most of the osteopathic medical schools. Though, PCOM, NSU, and UMDNJ-SOM are my top choices if I was given the option.

Members don't see this ad.

MCAT is a tad low, but you have good GPA's so that does "balance" your stats to an extent. My advice: apply AS EARLY AS POSSIBLE, and consider re-taking the MCAT as well. If you get your new MCAT score after you've applied to a few schools, and it is higher, then simply update them/your application with this new score. Honestly, I think you will be fine as long as you apply as early as possible and as broadly as possible.

Chances are solid, apply broadly though.

Members don't see this ad :)
Thank you for the replies! I will probably focus on taking the mcat again while I am applying. What schools specifically should I aim for?