How does owning a house affect financial aid (Scholarships and Grants)???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Doc.Ope

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this site, but a little bit about myself. I'm a recent graduate who will be applying during the 2021 Cycle (Starting med-school 2022).

My major question pertains to having a house in my name when filling out the FAFSA. After some research, it is my understanding that owning a house or having a house in my name would not affect loans (somebody please check me on this, thank you!). But what I couldn't find out is if this would affect scholarships or grants for school.

Also, this is a family house which happens to be under my name and parent as co-signers.

Will I be better off transferring the title to one of my parents ? Any help is appreciated please, thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
You'll be fine. It's based off your income/tax returns. I have something similar and am able to receive max loans from Uncle Sam.

You'll be fine. It's based off your income/tax returns. I have something similar and am able to receive max loans from Uncle Sam.
Hey! Thank you so much for responding. Yeah, I figured it wouldn't affect loans. Just wasn't sure how it'll affect scholarships and grants, I'm guessing schools don't care unless you have multiple properties.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hey! Thank you so much for responding. Yeah, I figured it wouldn't affect loans. Just wasn't sure how it'll affect scholarships and grants, I'm guessing schools don't care unless you have multiple properties.