How important is the timing of applying to MD/DO programs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aatokos

Reaction score
I graduated in May with my bachelors in biology and I am studying this summer for the MCAT and I will be taking it at the end of August... so I will be receiving my score by the end of September. But I still have a couple of pre-requisites courses I have not taken yet and I am registered for those courses at a community college near me. I am also concerned about that having a negative impact on my application. Another semester at a 4 year university is something I could not afford and that is what made me decide on taking the CC route.

But with all that being said it seems to make sense to wait until the end of the fall semester when I receive my grades in December to apply, since I am certain I will receive As in the courses I am taking and that would help bring my GPA to a solid 3.5.

But a 3.5 gpa is still not a super competitive gpa and I am concerned that the combination of a average gpa and a late application is not a recipe for success.

Members don't see this ad.

Definitely wait until next cycle then - applying in December is wayy too late for MD and ( I believe) DO too

Reactions: 3 users
I graduated in May with my bachelors in biology and I am studying this summer for the MCAT and I will be taking it at the end of August... so I will be receiving my score by the end of September. But I still have a couple of pre-requisites courses I have not taken yet and I am registered for those courses at a community college near me. I am also concerned about that having a negative impact on my application. Another semester at a 4 year university is something I could not afford and that is what made me decide on taking the CC route.