How long did you study for the DAT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

How long did you study before taking the DAT?

• 1-2 weeks

Votes: 9 7.3%
  • 3-4 weeks

Votes: 19 15.3%
  • 5-6 weeks

Votes: 23 18.5%
  • 7-8 weeks

Votes: 29 23.4%
  • 9-10 weeks

Votes: 16 12.9%
  • 11-12 weeks

Votes: 16 12.9%
  • 4-6 months

Votes: 9 7.3%
  • 7+ months

Votes: 3 2.4%

• Total voters

bing12

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I want to help out those studying for the DAT by having this POLL. It allows students to get a better understanding of how long students generally take to study for their DAT.

Members don't see this ad.

Well I studied over the summer in 2009 for about 2 months but not seriously. Then the last two weeks before the exam i studied like CRAZY. 10+ hours a day nonstop. That was one of the most intense things I've ever done but it was worth it and I had a lot of self-motivation/determination kinda thing going on :p

Hoping I can put that kind of energy, motivation into studying once I get to dental school, which I'm sure I will :)

I took about six weeks to study before I took it. I studied 4-5 hours each day except the weekends. I'm not a biology or science major, so I really had to hammer the sciences, especially biology (which I still think is the toughest section because of how broad it is).

I would also recommend taking off the day or two right before the DAT, or just very lightly go over everything. It has been proven statistically that people who do that perform better on that type of a test.

AA: 20
TS: 20 (Bio: 18, Gen Chem: 23, O-Chem: 22)

Members don't see this ad :)
"9-10 weeks of studying"
BUT
only 6 weeks of truly efficient and serious studying

AA: 21
TS: 21
PAT: 19

Sci GPA: 3.5
Overall GPA: 3.7

The DAT is absolutely a do-able exam!