Dismiss Notice
SDN members see fewer ads and full resolution images. Join our non-profit community!

how many schools?

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - DO' started by PalCareGrl, Mar 8, 2001.

1. PalCareGrl

PalCareGrl Senior Member

Fellow [Any Field]
    Hi, I'm going to be applying to schools this spring for 2002, and I was wondering, on average, how many schools people were applying to? I am only going to be applying to osteopathic schools because I applied allopathic two years ago. Last year I decided, after reading about osteopathy, that this is what I really want to do. Any comments or suggestions would be appreciated too. Thanks! [​IMG]

2. Thread continues after this sponsor message. SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. CaliforniaGirl

Hey PalCareGrl,
    Sounds familiar. I'll be applying exclusively to DO programs soon also, but this is my first time around so I'm learning a LOT. I've chosen 12 of the 19 schools I'm interested in attending, and plan to apply to those. I've been warned against going nuts with apps because focusing on a workable number of secondaries is important. But...like I said I'm still learning. Maybe other folks can help us out!
    -J

4. zorro21

zorro21 Senior Member

when applying to a D.O. school or MD school, you must ask yourself one important question. what qualifications do i possess that would make me a strong candidate? make a list of your current overall GPA, science GPA, MCAT scores, volunteer experience, and how many D.O. letters of recommendation you can get. then, write down each school's admissions requirements and compare the two list. also, call the school and ask them what they look for in an applicant. does the school focus only on MCATs? only on GPA? or does the school look at the "entire" applicant. only apply to those schools that match your credentials. this will save you time, money, and headache.
    i hope this helps.