How many semesters of Organic Chemistry?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

A P

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
My university recently changed the recommended course outline for Cell and Molecular Bio majors (which I am). Previously, we were required to take Organic Chem I & II, however now the recommended route is to take one semester of Organic Chem survey, which is from what I understand a condensed overview of both semesters. O Chem I & II can still be taken in place of the one semester class, what would you guys do in this situation? One semester of O Chem may be better for the GPA, but the 2 semester route may be better for MCAT.

Members don't see this ad.

Most schools have an ochem requirement. This requirement can be filled with 1 semester of Biochem (at a decent number of schools) + biochem lab

I would definitely recommend BCH for the MCAT OVER orgo
(I was an organic chem tutor to put that in perspective)

Ideally, you would take Orgo I & II, then take Biochem right before the MCAT

I can't really comment on weather the 1 semester Orgo course would meet the requirement, as schools usually only accept those types of "survey" courses if the institution does not offer the full 2 part course with lab. Since your school offers it they may view this as taking the easy way out.

For reference, my school offers a similar "survey" ochem course that is required of the nursing majors. When I asked my advisor about it, he looked at me and said "theres a reason people trust physicians advice and not nurses, because we make pre-meds take the real classes" He also said that most schools wouldn't take it.

So I guess you have two options

1- Take Ochem I & II, then biochem and be best prepped for the MCAT but risk your GPA