About the Ads

Pastamahn

2+ Year Member
May 29, 2015
Status
Medical Student (Accepted)
As an undergrad I have never studied over summer. As the last poster said, just worry about working to make some money and enjoying the summer when you can. Studying over summer does basically nothing, anyways.

RespectTheChemistry19

5+ Year Member
Jun 12, 2014
Status
Pre-Rehab Sci [General]
I will usually look over the first few chapters of my textbooks a couple days before classes start to lighten my load a bit that first week.

Otherwise, I really don't study much at all over the summer.

Aug 18, 2015
Status
Pre-Medical
Not at all.
I did have a friend from Japan that would study all of his course material in great depth during the summer and when he was in school during the fall/winter he'd do f*ck all.

Jul 29, 2015
My freshmen year summer I read the entire 1200 page biology textbook, just for fun though, not to get ahead. I think that's when I knew I wanted to major in biology/ become a physician. Yes I am a nerd haha

Reactions: Siroucity

takeurmeds02

5+ Year Member
Dec 9, 2014
Status
Resident [Any Field]
I will usually look over the first few chapters of my textbooks a couple days before classes start to lighten my load a bit that first week.

Otherwise, I really don't study much at all over the summer.
^this is probably the most you need ever do for undergrad. Enjoy your summer. It keeps you from burning out prematurely during the semester.

getdown

7+ Year Member
Nov 16, 2010
Status
Attending Physician
Why would you study ahead? You just end up studying it wrong and then get all confused and having to relearn it.

About the Ads

Dr.Sticks

2+ Year Member
Nov 24, 2014
Status
Pre-Medical
None really.. What is there to study if you don't take summer classes? When it comes to for the MCAT I probably will though.
During summer I dedicate myself to volunteering A LOT