General Admissions & OTCAS How To Apply for Your Master's in OT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OTlovexo

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys! I'm a senior undergraduate student taking a year off and planning on applying to graduate school programs next cycle for my Masters in Occupational Therapy. Looking at the "GPA's, GRE's, XTRAs, etc." thread and seeing everyones stats really left me with questions:

How does one get so many hours shadowing? Do you volunteer instead for hours?
Where have you shadowed and how did you get that opportunity?
How have you "documented" your shadowing hours?
How do you find jobs that are related to this occupation without any experience?

I'm just looking for any answers related to shadowing/extracurriculars/jobs!

I have shadowed three different places but have only accumulated about 50 hours, but I see many people who have shadowed at one place for over 100 hours! I just really am looking for help to build my resume and work towards a stronger application for next year.

Members don't see this ad.

My school actually had a required class that was an internship class. We were able to pick from places in the area and we had to get a total of 150 documented hours. I know the hospitals that are around me allow students to observe with them, yours may too!

Reactions: 1 users
My school actually had a required class that was an internship class. We were able to pick from places in the area and we had to get a total of 150 documented hours. I know the hospitals that are around me allow students to observe with them, yours may too!
Was this your undergraduate school? That is so awesome!

Members don't see this ad :)
Was this your undergraduate school? That is so awesome!