How to approach roommate about noise during MCAT studying?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KMS0732

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
deleted

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
My issue is the noise-level in the apartment currently. It's not loud to the point where I feel like a complaint is justified, but it is too loud to study properly.
Have you tried white noise, like running a noisy fan, a sleep machine, or an app on your phone meant for the same purpose? +/- the noise-canceling headphones.

Reactions: 1 users
1.5 months?? Tell them to check into a hotel.

Members don't see this ad :)
"Hey, would you please speak a little quieter when I'm studying?" Don't overthink it - set reasonable boundaries and if she disagrees try to work out an amicable compromise.

Reactions: 2 users
Don’t noise-canceling headphones block out noise from a normal conversation? Maybe it’s cause I haven’t worn them in a while, but if you are wearing noise-canceling headphones and in a different room with the door closed, and you can still hear them talking, they’d have to be like shouting right? It’s not unreasonable to ask your roommate to tell her family not to yell. Just don’t be aggressive about it, and if she seems doubtful that they are being that loud, mention that you’re in another room with noise-canceling headphones and can still hear them.