How to study in veterinary school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Vetjoa

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I am a first year veterinary student who just finished having a meltdown about, surprise! Vet school. I freaked out over the fact that it’s taking me so long to finish handwriting my lectures, while also studying for my upcoming exams. I’ve been hand writing lectures my whole academic life, and it’s whats worked thebest for me. I just wanted to see if there are any handwriting vet students who have survived using this studying technique during the didatic portion of the curriculum, or if it’s just unrealistic for me to keep this up. And if it is unrealistic, pleaseeeeee tell me what would work best for a person who is used to rewriting everything!

Members don't see this ad.

I handwrote all of my notes in undergrad. I couldn't keep up with it in vet school. My notes now are all in flashcard form - I make them during class - and I quiz myself on them relentlessly. The only things I do by hand at this point are drawing out diagrams.

What works best will vary for each person, but I've maintained a high GPA doing it this way. It takes me a little more effort to memorize things than when I wrote everything out, but for time management, the typed flashcards work better for me. I have classmates who do everything by hand, not sure how they find the time for it.

I know at least two students in my class who handwrite most everything, so it is possible. It definitely seems super time consuming tho. Maybe pick a couple classes that you feel you could do just as well in while switching to just slides/flashcards/etc and handwriting out the more important classes?

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Hello,