HPSP life, could use some input!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Karp316

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all, I'm in my first year of medical school and am heavily debating joining the Air Force for HPSP. It would cover the costs of the last 3 years of medical school (tuition ~$50,000 per year) plus the stipend, and I would then serve in return for 3 years (residency aside). I feel truly driven to join, I would find it very rewarding and don't really care one way or the other about financial reasons (very gun-ho about practicing anesthesiology), but at the same time I am incredibly nervous about how it would impact my potential family/marital life (whether meeting someone, staying in one place long enough for marriage, or being absent near the start of family life).

What are the summers like during medical school with HPSP and what is life like while serving? (Likelihood of deployments/length of deploy./chances of being stationed in USA with Air Force). Any feedback would be incredibly appreciated :)

Members don't see this ad.

Hey all, I'm in my first year of medical school and am heavily debating joining the Air Force for HPSP. It would cover the costs of the last 3 years of medical school (tuition ~$50,000 per year) plus the stipend, and I would then serve in return for 3 years (residency aside). I feel truly driven to join, I would find it very rewarding and don't really care one way or the other about financial reasons (very gun-ho about practicing anesthesiology), but at the same time I am incredibly nervous about how it would impact my potential family/marital life (whether meeting someone, staying in one place long enough for marriage, or being absent near the start of family life).