I am FM...I think I want to switch into EM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jakomo

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all

Consider this post a little bit of venting, and a little bit of curiosity ;)

I am almost finished with my FM intern year. Canadian citizen, Caribbean grad, average board scores right through. I was never really able to figure out which specialty I liked best, and being realistic with my credentials, I thought FM would be a good fit. Then I took my EM rotation as a student at the end of the match cycle. Wow. LOVED IT!

I figured the experience as a student vs being a resident or attending would be very different. I would see all the fun parts as a student, with none of the cons. I ended up matching at a large academic hospital system in Detroit as FM, and just finished an EM month. Wow. LOVED IT! I know, I know...Even as a resident, I'm an outside rotator, and expectations are less. Still though...I can't get over EM.

Every day in FM, I get maybe 30% medicine, 70% social and paper work. I don't want to argue with a patient that I'm not writing them a note for a month off because they caught a cold. I don't want to fill out insurance forms. I tire of chasing after people to get labwork or follow ups done, simply because they can't be bothered. Surely, EM has similar repeating stories - the guy whose pain is only fixed "with a drug that starts with D", the people that use the ER repeatedly for non-emergency cases, etc... All that to say, I feel like my hard work through medical school and thus far into residency is setting me up for a lifetime of a paperwork grind for minimal pay off with actual medicine. It doesn't help that since my program is part of a large system that my staff loves to refer A LOT. I'm just starting to feel like my title of "MD" is fairly hollow.