I decided I want to major in music, but...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Morizaki Nao

森崎 奈緒
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am in a really tough situation right now. I currently attend the University of Guam and it's my first semester. I am majoring in Biology right now and I love it so much, but it feels like something is missing. I want to major in music now, playing the piano, but I'm not sure if I am even good enough. I love music so much, but if it's not with the piano, it might just feel as incomplete as being a biology major does so far. My piano skills are currently only lower intermediate level, and I'm so shy to even play in front of others now even though I wasn't before. If I do decide to major in music, I have to pass an audition playing the piano so I hope I can have some advice on what piece would be considered good enough?

To explain furthur, I want to be a pediatric surgeon and I have always had this vision of playing the piano for the children. I have already faced financial hardships and through it all, that's the image I think back to. It's what keeps me going, and if that is so, I know I won't make it far without following the path of that vision is what I feel.

Members don't see this ad.

First, you're a first semester freshman, so you're not really majoring in anything yet. At most schools, you have to have a minimum GPA, certain core classes completed and class standing. You should talk to your advisor.

Second, how about maybe just taking a piano (performance) minor? Keep music in your life, but don't wrap your whole academic world in it. I started out as a music ed. major. They sucked all the fun out of it and made it "work" with dismal employment prospects to follow. I'd had enough after two semesters. I discovered biology and medicine and blah blah personal statement.