This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ariaofthesoul

Reaction score
I've had a not-so-great past 4 years as an undergrad at UVA (at least compared to when I was applying to colleges in high school - 4.3 cum gpa + tons of leadership and extracurriculars). I graduated back in May with my Bachelor of Arts in Biology and minored in Psychology hoping to get into medical school but I realized, I wasted my undergrad years.

I have done a lot of extracurriculars (resident advisor for 3 years, student government/community work/advocacy/event planning all 4 years) and worked as a health promotion assistant at the wellness center for a year. Throughout the pandemic, I fell into this hole where I had a hybrid eating disorder with my limited options as a celiac and couldn't optimize my resources at the Student Disability Center because my parents refused to send me the required documents. It was to the point where they gave me a semester renewal thing where I had some accommodations due to my poor mental health and family crises for a year.

I want to become a gastroenterologist. My gpa is a 3.251 and my sGPA is a regrettable 2.802 with no valuable clinical experience/research. This feels like a sob story but I need some advice. What should I do (jobs, research, volunteer) ? Like what MCAT score should I reach for and what do you think a "post-bac best-case scenario," would do to my sGPA and my chances in general?

Hoping to do post-bac record enhancer program but there are very few since a lot focus on "career changers."
- Applying to UCLA Public Health Scholars Summer Program in November (if anyone knows or have gotten accepted, please let me know)

Here are my hopes for medical schools (virtually impossible with my stats right now but I want to look into programs/opportunities to get hands-on)

UCLA
Cornell
Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai
NYU New York University
University of Toronto