IMG or AMG

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

vinestarmed

Reaction score
Out of curiosity, I am a pre medical student in the US, and not an American citizen/resident. I will apply for medical school and (hopefully) become a doctor, but my question is, after residency, will I be considered an IMG or an AMG for graduating from a US medical school?

Given the case I am not offered an H1B sponsorship after my training, I would be open to practice in my country, but practicing in the US would be very beneficial for my career interests. Thank you, I am new here!

Members don't see this ad.

You will be an AMG that requires a visa.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
If you want to practice in the US attend a medical school here
I will, the hopefully was to actually become a doctor, my country's medical education starts from an undergraduate level, would have to restart my postsecondary education if I wanted to leave the country.

Do hospitals typically sponsor visas for AMGs requiring one?

Entirely depends on the program and the H1B lottery. Academic institutions can be exempt from the H1B lottery cap, so IDK but maybe going to an academic residency might help? For the most accurate advice you should always consult with an immigration attorney.

Reactions: 1 users
Do hospitals typically sponsor visas for AMGs requiring one?
Some programs only support J1 visas.
Many do not support visas of any type (whether AMG or FMG).
It varies by region, specialty, program and year, so it's difficult to give a precise answer.

It varies by region, specialty, program and year, so it's difficult to give a precise answer.
Would I be able to complete residency on a J1 visa?