MD Incoming MS1 - How do I maximize my chances at matching into a top IM residency in the Northeast?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thetenthletter

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Incoming MS1.
Apologies in advance if this post sounds neurotic since I am asking for advice pretty early in the process. I was a really low-performing student (~2 GPA) in HS, and would not have made it into a medical school without doing research before ugrad started.

Hoping to gain some insight before school starts. I want to match into a high-ranked IM program because 1. I would like a career in academia (research + teaching) and 2. I will likely pursue an IM fellowship (and I hear that pedigree, unfortunately, plays a role in matching into fellowships).

Current things I have going in my favor:
- Will have ~10 publications and 1-2 abstracts by the end of this year (all clinical research, IM related, 1 first author pub)
- Will be attending a T20 Chicago medical school
- MA Resident

I had a few questions:
- Should I try to do research at high-ranked institutions in the Northeast (i.e., NYP, MGH) next summer? Will this provide some sort of benefit when I apply to these programs for IM?
- How valuable is AOA? Is it worth sacrificing research time to try and get AOA?
- What are some ways to network at programs in the NE if I'll be in the midwest for a good chunk of time?

Thanks a ton in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

AOA is more important than research, and you already have 10 papers and going to a T20 school
Disagree. OP going to NW or UChicago. I imagine competition to get AOA will be very tight. You could be a great student at those places and not get AOA. Looking at rank lists from those schools, plenty of those students get into top NE programs without AOA.

OP, if you do some research in med school and are in the top third of your class, you should have a decent shot at NE top IM programs.