International volunteering?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PhysioMD

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
-

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
Here we go...
Unnecessarily curt response to someone who was asking a legitimate question.

@PhysioMD I'll bump this for you. I have no experience with overseas work, but it is widely considered to be more or less a waste of time on this forum. Unfortunately, many people here can't seem to think of doing anything unless it has a positive impact on their med school chances. The main reason for this sentiment is that most premeds don't have any real skills to apply when they go overseas and they end up doing essentially nothing, which isn't really very beneficial to themselves or anyone else. Also, knowing how foreign doctors practice isn't of much practical use stateside. If you think you would enjoy it and get a good experience out of it, that would be great. Plus, you have training which could really help some people. Keep looking on SDN and at your school for some good programs that would let you do some good work with your training. Keep in mind that you need to have long term commitment to your ECs and a mission trip doesn't really offer that, but you will determine how much of a positive impact it has on yourself. Good luck!

Unnecessarily curt response to someone who was asking a legitimate question.