Interventional Echocardiography CV Anesthesia

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Modanq

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just a few links and references for those CV Anesthesiologists and residents thinking about CV Anesthesia. We should keep pushing the boundaries and our role into the cath lab. When I was a resident all I was told is that no one wants to do anesthesia cases in "offsite" locations. Well here we are - In my opinion, in addition to the ICU, the saving grace for anesthesiologists in a novel way to add value...

Links to Echocardiography Educational Videos

Symposium on Interventional Echocardiography and Decision-Making in Structural Heart Disease

Requirements for Interventional Echocardiographers

Structural heart. TAVR, Mitral Clip, Left Atrial Occlusion, EP PV Ablations, etc.

Thoughts. The tech side in 3D 4D is rapidly progressing.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 6 users
I don’t know about the fellowship since this sub sub specialty is new and dynamic, but I do think that the cath/ep lab is a great way to be protected from mid levels. I just can’t picture CRNAs being allowed to operate in this new territory

Members don't see this ad :)
If they can be independent in cardiac rooms then I don't see why not these cases. Basically I don't see how these protect us against them more than any other case requiring echo

In some centers they have a dedicated cardiologist/echocardiographer doing the imaging. In others anesthesia provides imaging. Makes a huge difference in the demands of the case.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
If they can be independent in cardiac rooms then I don't see why not these cases. Basically I don't see how these protect us against them more than any other case requiring echo