Is $130K worth a 4 year commitment?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pharmcdc

Troches & lollipops
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I have not been around here much this semester. Hope everyone is doing well. Here is the scoop. I stumbled upon this deal with the VA. They will pay for my P3 and P4 tuition, books, and fees which my tuition is 25,500 a year. During my P3 year they will pay me $38,000. During P4, $40,000 I will be hired, and everything starts, full benefits, insur, retirement, etc. In return I must give them 3 years for each year. The clock starts upon getting hired. So essentially, I will owe them 4 years after I graduate in 2010 because two years will have been exhausted while Im in school. If I graduated today, my starting pay would be $97,000. After 1 year I would be stepped and it would go to $101,000. I graduate in 2 years so Im sure the starting pay will be over 100k.

Pros: Student loans cut 1/2, Salaried student, start out years ahead of where I would have finacially. The VA was a preference for me anyway.

Cons: I have to stay where I am, cannot transfer to another VA during my commitment, A residency is not included meaning I am expected to start working upon graduation. I will miss out on any other opportunities because I'll be locked into this one.

I was a little hesitant about posting this on a public forum but I do value many of your opinions. I talked with some professors that I respect and the only caution was to make sure that Im not missing out on something else that I really want to do. What do you guys think? Some of you guys that have been practicing for a while give really good advice, and I value your opinions. Thanks. Oh, and no I dont have to work during the semester, or even during the summer. My "JOB" is to go to school. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.