Is fellowship really necessary?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

byungwooy

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a PGY2 AP/CP resident in a fairly well known university program. Everyone who finishes residency in my program go into a fellowship training either here or at some other institution. I also find lots of FMGs(that also includes me) tend to do more than one fellowship to make themselves more marketable. I'll be graduating in 2007 which is right after year 2006 when 2 classes of residents will be graduating simultaneously. I am well aware that the more trained you are the better chance of getting a good job. But I am really not that interested in going for more fellowship training if I can find a job right after residency. Is it really that difficult to find a job(not part time) that has partnership opportunity if you don't do fellowship training ? I am not restricting myself into a particular location and willing to go to rural areas if I have to. I would appreciate some input on this especially from LADoc00. Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

byungwooy said:
Is it really that difficult to find a job(not part time) that has partnership opportunity if you don't do fellowship training ? I am not restricting myself into a particular location and willing to go to rural areas if I have to. I would appreciate some input on this especially from LADoc00.

I'm no LADoc00, but let me give this a shot...

Try to find a former fellow that regrets his/her choice to do a fellowship.