Is it too late for me to pursue neuropsych?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

calvicorse

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hoping some of the neuro people on this forum can help me with a question i'm wondering about. I am currently in my last year of my PhD in a clinical program and am about to start interviewing for internship, mostly at VAs.

I'm not entirely sure what I want to do yet in my career yet---I enjoy doing therapy, testing, as well as research. At this point, I'm not sure if I want to be a full-fledged neuropsychologist, but I also don't want to take the possibility off the table just yet. However, it's not clear to me whether the possibility is even still an option, given how competitive neuropsych is. Several of the VA internships I am interviewing at soon offer neuropsych rotations (e.g., pick 3 4-month rotations; so I could choose one neuro rotation). However, it seems like it would only make sense to do one of these rotations if I would be competitive for a neuropsych post-doc following internship. I suppose my question is: is this realistic?

For some background, prior to graduate school I worked as a full time psychometrist at a nationally very well respected hospital for two years, so I have good familiarity with the administration of most neuropsych tests. During grad school, I did a one year prac for a neuropsychologist doing testing and some report writing (the rest of my pracs were mostly doing therapy). However, I didn't take any specialized assessment courses through my school (e.g., neuroanatomy, etc). Additionally, I published a few papers during graduate school that were neuropsych related, and have a pretty strong research background in terms of publications.