Is it worth applying.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nontrad1996

Reaction score
Hi y'all,
I am new to SDN and may be posting this in the wrong thread. I would like to know if y'all think i should take my shot this cycle.

Bio:
Male
South Asian
Tri-state

Stats
3.74 Undergraduate GPA
3.8+ Science GPA
Took Bio I, II, Chem I, II, Calc, Stats at my local state school, and used those to let my main institution, NYU, enroll me in the higher pre-reqs (Biochem, orgo, physics)
My Overall gpa might be 3.9 but I'm not sure tbh.

Mcat:
497(124/122/123/128) 500(125/124/125/126)

Work/activity
A lot of clinical work (paid and unpaid)
Shadowed both DO and MD
Volunteered and private practices
Just started working in research
I was on E board for some clubs.

Have not submitted primaries yet. Goal is to submit them asap for DO.

I've been told not to bother with MD

Question is,
Is it worth applying, i feel like everything is good except my mcat, but i studied for a long time and honestly i cannot bring myself to do it again.

(I have no preference for MD/DO), i care more about location

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
Even for DO. The newest schools will be happy to accept you, because they just just want warm bodies to fill seats.
I will happily be a warm seat. I'm confused why new schools are not good?

brand new DO schools are to be avoided (unless it’s your only accept) until they at least graduate a class. It takes time for faculty to gel and deliver a coherent curriculum; they have limited clinical rotations sites [it takes time to build these!], the degree of oversight of clinical training will be weak; the schools are unlikely to have resources for struggling students or those with mental health needs; lastly their grads will be unknown products to residency program directors.

Reactions: 1 user