This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jefferson vs. VCU

• Jefferson

Votes: 5 31.3%
  • VCU

Votes: 11 68.8%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

OngoGablogianMD

Reaction score
Facing a really tough decision after getting off the WL at VCU (was not expecting WL movement this late!). I am a non-trad student currently living in Philly, but my fiance is from Virginia and has a lot of family in Richmond. Both schools seem like a great fit with little to really differentiate them, especially with tuition being more or less the same. I have a few specialties that I am looking to explore further (EM, IM, Ortho, Anesthesia) but I am largely undecided at this point and recognize that most students change their minds anyway. I'd like to keep my options open, but it seems like neither school will be closing any doors for residency. Outside of school, I love being outdoors (running, hiking, mountain biking, skiing) so that is an important factor for overall quality of life. Only have a few days to decide so any thoughts or comments are appreciated!

Jefferson

Pros:
  • Close to family/friends
  • Already have some ties with current physicians
  • 21 months of preclinical (with 8 weeks of dedicated study time for Step 1, plus an entire week to study before each exam)
  • Slightly higher rank/prestige, better match list (Rothman and Wills Eye are both top in the country)
  • Scholarly Inquiry Tracks (Design, Clinical/Translational Research, Health Policy) seem interesting and could be unique for residency apps
  • JeffHOPE allows for early patient interaction and community outreach
  • Seems to have a strong emphasis on student wellness/most students seem to really like the school
  • Philly is a great city and still reasonably affordable with a decent park system (Wissahickon, SRT) for outdoor access
Cons:
  • Internally ranked P/F preclinical with AOA (not a huge con but something to think about)