Kaplan FL vs. AAMC FL

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Psychotropic

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm new here and I was wondering what you guys think about the relative difficulties of the Kaplan FLs and the AAMCs. I'm a Kaplan Online student and I haven't taken any AAMC tests yet. I understand a lot of posters might feel the PS in Kaplan is harder than what we should expect (I mean missing over 20 and still getting an 11?) but what about VR and BS?

At this point, I've only had two opportunities to take Kaplan FLs (1 and 5) and I'm OK with my scores, but I am really usnure as to whether or not it will be indicative of my real score. (does 11 on Kaplan PS really indicate 11 on real thing ?etc.) With less than 2 weeks left, should take more Kapaln FLs, or try to get my hands on some AAMC tests? Thanks for any and all insight/comments/advice.

Best of luck with studying for this crazy test. I think you'll all do great! :thumbup:

Members don't see this ad.

well for what it is worth I am a Kaplan classroom student, (in retrospect i should have done the online thing since the online lectures are more efficient) and i have supplemented my kaplan practice tests with AAMC practice tests. Though the raw scores are markedly different, my scaled score usually comes out about the same. I have gotten all 11's on kaplan bios and aamc's, and all 11's on kaplan physicals and an occasional 12 on aamc. The verbal is a different story. I usually get one point higher on kaplan verbal than aamc. AAMC verbal takes some getting used to as their questions are a different style from kaplan. you should take aamcs just to see they level of difficulty of questions you will be faced with on test day. hope that helps

allennh said: