left corporate america, working on pre-reqs... need vote of confidence!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GoneCrazy

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm new to SDN as a member, but have been perusing the forums for several months now. I'm a 26 year old female that has been working in government relations and marketing since I graduated with a BA in 2006. I've always wanted to be in the Dentist- since I was a kid. I always looked up to an uncle of mine who has his own practice and yet didn't even start dental school till he was 28!

But- I left my job as an account manager about a month ago and have moved back into my parents house, started waiting tables and bartending, and am taking classes at a state school nearby. I'm working pre-requisites individually, as opposed to a post-bacc program, because of the cost and the location (I can take what I need where I am now and live with mom and dad!).

My questions I'm posing is this- it's seems to be a slow process getting to the bulk of my science courses because I need two math courses to get the chem underway. Is there anyone on here that was in a similiar situation- in that you worked on your pre-reqs individually and not in a structured program? If there is anyone on here like this- could you offer up what your class schedule looked like? What you took Fall, Spring, Summer and so on. Please bear in mind I am taking one math course right now and plan to start the bulk of my classes in the Fall. :xf:

Everyone seems very supportive- and it's nice to see there are so many people out there in similar situations. Hopefully someone can offer up some advice!

Members don't see this ad.

I see that you have GoneCrazy :smuggrin: