Life Science Major Question.. UCLA students?!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pinkmedicine

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello so I am a pre-pharmacy student who is currently in physiological science major. I decided to pick this major becuase in high school I really enjoyed learning about physiology. But after I took L.S 2 this quarter, which is supposed to be similar to physiological science, I was really "surprised" by the competitive pre-med students and also I really really enjoyed the material but because of the curves and how I couldn't really keep up with them I didn't do as well as I thought I could have.

Also, my friends were telling me that if I'm not even going to apply for med school, why put myself into a pre-med environment..? (I thought they had some few good points there)

I understand that you choose your major based on what you like. I really enjoyed the Ls2 but my grades just were not reflecting it. I thought I was the only one who had this type of problem but many people also told me that they like what they study but because of the pressure and just the environment in general your grades/gpa doesn't reflect that sometimes...

So I guess now my goal is to explore each life science as much as possible before making my final decision.

For current UCLA students or those who graduated with any life science majors... can you guys tell me about (how the classes were, your interest, what you learn (based on pure memorizing or concept), the level of pre-med environment and also how hard is it to maintain a pretty good gpa)

Some of the majors I was looking into was MIMG, Neuro science, Physiological Science (one that I'm in), EEBio, psychbio and I think that's most of the life science majors...