Low BCP GPA - questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

woox

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a Texas resident and am applying out of state and in state and I have a question on BCP GPA. I noticed TMDSAS does not have this and I saw AADSAS has it and its lower than my sGPA

BCP (with +/-): 2.92
sGPA (with +/-): 3.05
Total GPA: 3.31

I knew my sGPA/Total GPA was on the low side so I was aiming to get ~20/21 on DAT to offset my low GPA...but when I saw the BCP GPA it was a shock.

Is BCP only Biology, OCHEM and Physics (exculding classes like Biochem, Genetics etc...).

I have not taken physics yet does that affect the BCP calculations?

And last, Texas schools/application did not mention BCP anywhere do they not even look at this number then?

Members don't see this ad.

I am a Texas resident and am applying out of state and in state and I have a question on BCP GPA. I noticed TMDSAS does not have this and I saw AADSAS has it and its lower than my sGPA

BCP (with +/-): 2.92
sGPA (with +/-): 3.05
Total GPA: 3.31

I knew my sGPA/Total GPA was on the low side so I was aiming to get ~20/21 on DAT to offset my low GPA...but when I saw the BCP GPA it was a shock.

Is BCP only Biology, OCHEM and Physics (exculding classes like Biochem, Genetics etc...).

I have not taken physics yet does that affect the BCP calculations?

And last, Texas schools/application did not mention BCP anywhere do they not even look at this number then?
For AADSAS

BCP is ANY class that is biology, physics, or chemistry in nature. Biochem, genetics, histology, anatomy, most other upper level bios are USUALLY considered into BCP.

example:
I took a biochemistry course from the BMB department (biochemistry and molecular biology department), it was part of my BCP

So what is more looked at sGPA or BCP?

and does the TMDSAS only have sGPA since I don't see the BCP GPA posted anywhere?

Members don't see this ad :)