Marine Officer (3.12 cGPA, 3.09sGPA, 514 MCAT)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

landon7765

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I am posting today to get some advice on whether or not I should be applying this cycle. I am a non-traditional student who has been out of school for the past four years. I am a commissioned Marine Officer and have been serving as a platoon commander for two years. The end of my contract is December of 2020 and I have been debating on whether I should apply this cycle. With my low GPA but high MCAT, I feel very unsure if I should go all in or not. I am primarily concerned at if I have a shot at getting into DO schools, but I am definitely interested in MD as well. I really appreciate any opinions or advice, thanks!
  1. cGPA: 3.12 sGPA: 3.09
  2. MCAT: 514 (126,128,129,131)
  3. NM resident
  4. Ethnicity: White
  5. Undergraduate institution: New Mexico State University
  6. Clinical experience (volunteer and non-volunteer):
II) Clinical Volunteering: 50 hours (Study Abroad Volunteer Peruvian Maternity Clinic)
III) Employment Medical/Clinical: 1200 hours (Emergency Department Scribe/EMT on Ambulance)
IV) Research experience: None
V) Shadow Experience: None Unless you include scribing
VI) Non-clinical volunteering: 50 hours (study abroad Volunteer Peruvian orphanage volunteer)
VII) Other extracurricular activities (including athletics, military service, gap year activities, leadership, teaching, etc)
1)Leadership/Work Experience: 3 Years as a Marine Officer (Top 20% of my Basic School Class)
-Lead a platoon of 54 Combat Engineer Marines during two different operations deployments.
2)Other Work Experience:
-1.5 years as a university peer educator for alcohol/drug abuse and domestic violence prevention.
-1.5 years working as a crisis line responded for a suicide/crisis hotline
VIII) Letters of Recommendation: