Masters Programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GOGREEN4250

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently in search of good Masters program. I have already applied to University of Michigan's molecular and integrative physiology program and Boston Universities MAMS program, and I was wondering if anyone could give me further guidance in term of what programs to apply to! Thank You!

Members don't see this ad.

What is the goal for this degree?
My Goal is to get into medical school, but I feel that an SMP or traditional Masters program is best for me at this time due to my stats.

Members don't see this ad :)
I was in a similar situation regarding stats. I did a master's at my hometown university in their med school which focused on research (able to do bench stuff) but also allowed me to take graduate medical classes and class load. I was also able get to know plenty of the faculty along with the whole process of applying to med school. I guess it depends on which areas of your application need strengthening and which programs will allow you the right opportunities. I also think for it to be worth it for med school application purposes you should do very well in whichever program you choose. I can recommend doing a master's program to help your GPA but pick the right one for you!

I can recommend doing a master's program to help your GPA but pick the right one for you!
Master's grades have no effect on undergraduate gpa in AMCAS (for MD schools).
Undergrad gpa is the metric used to assess academic skills.

Master's grades have no effect on undergraduate gpa in AMCAS (for MD schools).
Undergrad gpa is the metric used to assess academic skills.