Med School Leave of Absence (military service)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hangooksaram

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm an accepted student to an allopathic medical school in the US (class of 2020). I'm also a dual citizen (USA and South Korea) and all South Korean males are obligated to serve the military for 2 years -- which I have not served yet.

Long story short, I may have to take a LOA at some point in medical school in order to serve the Korean military. I know my school allows up to 2 years of LOA for special circumstances. So my question is, assuming I must take this LOA, when would be the best time to do so? I thought perhaps after M2 once I've taken step 1... or after taking step 2 some time during or after M3.

Also, in what ways will this 2 year gap affect my residency match, after I return from the military? Are there particular things to watch out for, or prepare, during the years in school to ensure that I pull off the best match given this circumstance?

I'd greatly appreciate your thoughts on this.

Note:
*I cannot take a "LOA" for 2 years before matriculation.
*My question assumes that serving the Korean military is absolutely necessary -- and I cannot serve as a military doctor in Korea later in the future due to 1) Korean physician license 2) Officer rank cannot be dual 3) I cannot renounce my Korean citizenship given the laws that apply to me currently. 4) age at time of service
*2 years in Korean military will consist of mostly manual labor; no real time for studying or self-improvement etc.

Members don't see this ad.

sorta depends on the curriculum of your school

if it is traditional and not systems based but block based, I would say between years 1 and 2. That's how it was done at my school and it was the easiest transition from what I saw.