Medicine or Finance???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

captain bhangra

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
heyy everbody,
so i just finished up my first year at a community college, and was going towards an econ degree and hopefully work my way into the finance world once i graduated. but as i volunteer at the hospital (no particular reason), i question whether i want to work towards becoming a doctor. Over the past i always thought i would hopefully become a doctor, but recently have changed to finance world. So now i am wondering can anyone offer any advice? The thing is though, after volunteering in the hospital, i would NOT want to be a physician or at least think i wouldnt, but am very attracted to surgery.
I believe i could make alot more money in the finance world, but something about surgery attracts me and i cannot pinpoint what. Maybe the respect, prestige, excitement, or whatever it is.
can anyone offer any advice please?

Members don't see this ad.

Since you've only finished your first year of community college, you don't really need to make any decisions yet. That's what a liberal arts education is for. Explore. Take a large variety of classes. Continue to volunteer, take science classes along with your econ and finance classes. Work for interesting professors. Who knows what will stir your enthusiasm a couple years from now. But whatever you do, take your coursework seriously and do well, so all your options will be there for you.

Finance and money sounds like your calling. Go for it.

Members don't see this ad :)