Mid Level Providers

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Big_Bee

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I feel I should just start a thread to ask some questions.

I'm a third year medical student, I'm looking at four more years of medical education including residency, USMLE steps II, III, and a final board test (from what I can gather) in order to at the core, diagnose and treat patients for their problems.

With the influx of PA's, NP's, CRNA's, DPT's, etc... going through much less training/education while still diagnosing and treating patients. Will I be overtrained?

I would like to think that I wouldn't. I would like to think that to be Qualified to diagnose and treat patients one would require a Core of College Prerequesites, Bachelor's degree, Four year medical school education, three or more years of residency and multiple tests along the way would be the minimum to diagnose and treat.

Why can Anyone with less, diagnose and treat patients? I can only conclude that I'm overtrained.

BUZZZ

Members don't see this ad.

Big bee, are you sure you are a third year? You know, it is tough enough explaining the role of mid-level providers to the community, but to see the ignorance of those in the field is astounding.
Speaking for the PA profession -- you need to do some research. I have an ms in chem and math -- working on a PhD in computational chem. I taught physics and chem at a local college for years. I wanted to help out in the medical community so I then recieved a PA degree. 9 years as a paramedic, 37 years old -- family demands and lifestyle convinced me this was the way to go -- and I have never been happier.