Moonlighting questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WnderWmn10

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a third year resident. As part of my residency we have a moonlighting gig where we reside at a outpatient MRI center and basically our sole responsibility is to monitor for and manage contrast reactions. Pretty sweet gig considering this hardly ever happens and essentially I get my charting done, emails, etc. This was an internal moonlighting gig. As such, we were covered under the same liability insurance under the health system affiliated with our residency. Also, I signed a contract with this same health system to practice as an attending soon. So I've never had to worry about getting my own liability coverage or tail (I'm pretty sure though, that if I leave at some point, I will have tail coverage provided by this employer).

The down side is, that now that I am graduating in a few weeks, I no longer get to moonlight here (boo...).

So turns out, I found about another MRI center in the area that is looking for moonlighters to cover some shifts. The pay is similar, however, seeing as this is an external moonlighting gig, I will get paid as an independent contractor (which potentially means a much higher tax rate, which I am not sure I am thrilled about). Also, I have to look into this more, but I think the liability insurance they are providing me is claims made as opposed to occurance, so I think I would have to get tail coverage when I stop moonlighting.

I was planning on doing a 4 to 8 hour shift one day a week at this job at around $60/ hour. This would be on my day off from my primary employment as an attending.