MUSC, UNC, and Pitt-- how many letters on Dec 1

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

14years

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am a SC resident and slightly-older mechanical engineer applying to twelve dental schools. I interviewed early with MUSC, UNC, and Pitt. I have heard nothing at all as of today, December 10, other than a couple of rejections from schools I never interviewed with.

This is especially crushing to me because my motivation to study dentistry and motivation to get out of engineering are two totally separate issues and double my emotional investment in this process. It has been a nightmare trying to complete a full science post-bac while working 70 hours per week in the middle of a recession with that blank pink slip dangling over my head. Now it all looks like a waste.

Could anyone comment on just how much of the class is filled by this point for MUSC, UNC, and Pitt? Is there likely to be a second round of any magnitude? Are the waitlists my best hope at this point? Or is it too late even for that?

Also, should I call these schools, or would that not be advisable?

Thanks for any and all feedback.

Members don't see this ad.

Pitt fills about half of their seats on Dec 1 and has half in interviews pre Dec and half post Dec- intentionally. So you will still be considered for acceptance, although it has been mentioned that Pitt mostly looks at your personality after your invite and grades to lesser degree...
UNC- you are OOS for them? they are extremely tough for OOS and I believe they interview very few people post Dec and only instate...

Members don't see this ad :)