This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AbbyS08

5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I just took the ADAT and here is my personal breakdown:

How I studied: I spent 2 months total studying for this exam. I spent the first month learning/reviewing the material using board busters for the biomedical sciences and mosby’s nbde part II for the clinical sciences. The second month I focused on review using adat knockout’s program and going over some notes i took from the first month.

Biomedical Sciences: Board busters and adat knockout were both really great for this section. I had a bunch of ridiculously random qs tho that i don't know how anyone is expected to know unless they happened to stumble into it at one point in their education. The sections were really disproportionate with very little anatomy on my test and a lot more pathology. Also a good amount of dental anatomy qs but as long as you know your stuff you’ll be fine, nothing crazy there. There was also a good handful of questions that I remembered from knockout that were on my test, not exact but very on point.

Clinical Sciences: Mosby’s was eh and adat knockout was very reflective! Had a few cases that were similar which helped alot. I answered most of these questions based on my own knowledge from clinic and the topics highlighted in knockout. There were alot of speciality questions that went really in detail and unless you had an interest in that field, you probably wouldn’t think to remember or know. For instance I had alot of peds on my test and I remember knockout covering the content but they only had a handful of qs on that topic so I didn’t put too much emphasis on it :/. KNOW the guidelines in the AAPD. Overall this was the hardest section for me in how comprehensive it was but easier to do well in because there wasn’t really anything super random.