My study pace is so slow

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

taeyeonlover

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Current M1 here. I’m currently studying biochem right now and yesterday, it took me literally all day to absorb a 25 slides lecture and answer some review questions at the end of the lecture. I understand the concepts but to make the information actually stick, it takes me too long. I don’t check my phone or anything while studying. I wish I could make anki cards but it’s too time consuming. We had a quiz couple weeks ago on different material and I didn’t do to well.

Another problem I have noticed is that compared to my undergrad days, I am not as driven for some reason. I used to study like a madman and get As in everything when I was in undergrad and for some reason, now, I seem so much calmer than before. It’s been 6 years since I completed my undergrad. I didn’t take any classes during that 6 year gap

How should I overcome this? I’m just really scared that I won’t do well in the current module and beyond. I heard that anatomy, which is the next module that starts in couple months, is a lot harder at least at our school so I’m really worried.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user
You need to get better at Anki. If I watch a lecture at 2x speed I can finish the lecture and make (or unsuspend) relevant Anki cards in the total time of the lecture at 1x speed. You will be destroyed if you don’t become more efficient. Not everything is high yield.

Reactions: 1 users
You need to get better at Anki. If I watch a lecture at 2x speed I can finish the lecture and make (or unsuspend) relevant Anki cards in the total time of the lecture at 1x speed. You will be destroyed if you don’t become more efficient. Not everything is high yield.