need your help, mates

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Deo Juvante

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
In a couple of years I can find myself facing a tough issue. I’m going to move to Australia as a Skilled Migrant in order to study and practice medicine there. When I’ll enter the country I’ll be 24 yrs old. The only way to finance my education is to get a loan. Unfortunately, they don’t give HECS-HELP loans to PR’s, only to citizens and to those, who have humanitarian visas. That’s why I want to spend four years till I get a citizenship working (ambulance maybe?)\completing my prerequisites (I have a BA degree :( )\preparing for GAMSAT and interviews. If everything is OK, I can get the loan and start studying when I’m 28 or 29 (isn’t it too old?).

OR

I can do quite the same for 2 yrs in Oz (to get a Resident Return Visa) and move to New Zealand, try to get into one of medical schools there. AFAIK, Australian PR’s are considered as domestic students there and pay low tuition fees (smth around 11k NZ dollars/year), don’t they? In this case I'll be 26 or 27 in the beginning of study. Will I be able to move to OZ and make my internship and residency there after completing the degree in NZ?

What would you advice?
All replies will be appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Late 20s isn't too old. There are some students in their 30s in the USyd programme, and 1 or 2 even in their early 40s.

If you work as a paramedic it will work in your favour at the interview, so as long as your GPA is ok and you do well in the GAMSAT, you have a good chance.

NZ is also not a bad idea, but do you really want to switch countries twice?

Good luck.