New Grad - Hospital nights or Walgreens float?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

slrpharmd

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know, I know...read old forums. I have :) Any additional advice would be welcome.

I am a new grad and was an intern with Walmart all through school. Due to Walmart's recent cuts I did not get to stay on with them. I received a job with Walgreens about 2 weeks ago for 32 hrs/week floating. The furthest store in the district is 30 miles (45 minutes) away so driving and what not wouldn't be that bad. I have trained for 1 week with them. There is the obvious cons to working in retail, and from what I've seen so far its even worse at Walgreens than Walmart. However, I love working with patients. Even the tough patients screaming in my face don't phase me too much (I'm sure it will eventually).

My only hospital experience is from IPPE/APPE hours. And even those experiences were minimal, as I did my hospital rotation in a very small critical access hospital. But every preceptor I had (even on retail) said I would do very well in hospital and tried to push me towards a residency. Obviously I am not doing a residency for several reasons I won't go into right now. After my rotations I questioned my whole goals of being a retail pharmacist and started considering hospital.

I interviewed for a hospital nights position about a month ago and had all but given up on the job. But I just got a call back with a job offer. I honestly thought I would never come to this dilemma. What large (for our area, >500 beds) hospital would hire a new grad with no hospital experience or residency??? Its 7 on 7 off. Base pay is not great, but with the night differential it puts me at almost $5 more an hour and almost 10 more hours per pay period. There is also at least one other pharmacist on with me.