NP Student thinking about going pre-med

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

anonymousman

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

my name is anonymousman. I am 25 years old. I have been a nurse for three years. I currently work part time and I am in nurse practitioner school. I am halfway done with the program. I will be done with NP school this December if I hustle or next May if I take my time. I am underwhelmed with the education I am receiving with my program. I wish that I had more clinical hours. There are only 675 hours. I wish that there was less papers and discussion boards about nursing, nursing theory, and the nursing profession. I would appreciate science-oriented classes and more clinical hours, which is why I was thinking about going MD/DO. I find this idea exciting. Although, I realize that after a while the excitement does wear off and that it may seem like endless work for many years. There would be a major downside to going this route though as then I would have to take on debt. The DO school near me costs 75k a year. The MD schools near me are about 50k a year. I live in the Chicago suburbs. So far, I have not had to take on any debt in undergrad or with my MSN because of working as a nurse, living with my mom, and going to cheap schools (a community college and then a state school). I admit that I chose the NP route so I can graduate without debt and start helping out my single mom financially as soon as possible. She is only an LPN and 50 years old. I would also like to mention I do not want to start a family and whichever route I go I do wish to lead a childfree life for personal reasons. With a desire to go to med school what should I do? I was thinking about finishing NP school, working as an NP and saving the money for an inexpensive medical school. Is this a wise choice or should I go straight into becoming a pre-med? I would love to hear any advice that this community has t