NYMC vs Hackensack Meridian (Seton Hall)

pork_katsu_cheesecorn

2+ Year Member
Aug 1, 2017
  1. Pre-Medical
Been debating this for a while now and its been 50/50. If anyone can help me point out obvious pros and cons, that would be very appreciated! I also haven't received any financial assistance from either yet (both are private institutions), but my deal breaker might be whoever gives me a scholarship. FYI, I am a NJ resident, female, and am very interested in pursing a surgical residency after medical school. From what I know so far:

NYMC:
- 4 year medical school
- strong match list (especially for hospitals in NYC, which is a big interest for me)
- much older school with established traditions and connections
- learning style is typical lectures and small groups
- scheduled to take Step 1 after 2nd year, just like other 4 year schools

Hackensack Meridian:
- 3 year program (or you can stay another year to do research, MPH, etc), you start clinicals in the middle of 2nd year
- guaranteed internal match to any Hackensack hospital after 3 years. You can do the national Match but would have to stay for a 4th year.
- brand new school established in 2018, no match record yet
- flipped classroom style learning, similar to problem-based learning
- scheduled to take Step 1 after 3rd year (1 year after finishing didactics)

What to do?!? Also please correct me if any of the above information is incorrect. Thanks! :)

Last edited:
About the Ads

Therealestdoc

2+ Year Member
May 10, 2017
  1. Pre-Medical
Hackensack called me again and offered an even better scholarship. Half-Tuition, which basically makes tuition $31k a year. I think I'm gunna take it. But I am a bit skeptical why they keep offering more and more.
Take the deal and run. That’s a lot of money

Reactions: 3 users

bengalsix

2+ Year Member
May 26, 2017
  1. Medical Student