older applicants........

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

smedly2

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
My husband is preparing to take the DAT this summer. He's 31 y/o and graduated from college in 1998. My question is ...do the college credits not transfer after a certain number of years pass???? thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I wouldn't worry about it too much... Most schools don't care how old your grades are.

A classmate of mine was an avionics engineer with Boeing for 10 years before he applied and got accepted into my class. :D

Just Do It!

I know that some schools will require you to retake courses if it has been more than 5 years since graduation. I graduated in 96 and ran into some difficulties when I applied for this fall. They wanted me to retake this and that but I was able to convince them that it was unnecessary since I did so well on the DAT's. I did however, have to take Biochemistry since it was now a requirement (It was optional back then when I graduated).

I also think that private schools are more forgiving than public schools when it comes to course requirements.
Good luck!
:D

Members don't see this ad :)
thanks for you replies.
Biochem is now required! At all dental schools or just some??

Is 31 really up there in age for dental students?
3.0-3.1 GPA really low or average?
He has been a dental assistant for a few years with a xray license, will this help reguarding admissions?
Also, his sister is a dentist...will that help?

thanks

Most dental schools have biochem integrated into their curriculum because it's tested on the National Boards Part I.