One year post-graduation in hospital debating residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TheUglyBarnacle

Reaction score
Hello all, I am seeking career advice as the 2018 residency application start looms.

I am a 2018 graduate now working full time in a hospital. I applied to 15 higher-end residency programs, got 4 interviews (and 2 in Phase II) but did not match. After scrambling to find a job post-graduation I got a relatively quick job offer at a small hospital and started working in July 2018. Now I am debating going back for a residency position.

I work split time inpatient and in the ER, which the ER is a brand new position they created and the position I was hired for (they wanted a bright and motivated new grad). I have lots of opportunities here such as student precepting and additional projects to pick up all the time, as well as creating an ER pharmacist position largely from scratch.

However, I can't help but feel I want to go back and apply to a residency. The number one reason is that I do not want to live in the place that I live now. It isn't bad, but I am a big-city person who is antsy to leave. I also want to be able to switch jobs quickly and have a clinically-minded career with ample opportunity down the road. With the currently saturated hospital market, more hospitals are seeking only residency trained applicants. My concern is that down the road not being residency trained will limit my opportunity for not being "serious" about the profession enough.

Obviously this decision comes with downsides. I know a job is not guaranteed after residency. I know residency is difficult. I know I may not even get one if I apply. Thankfully student loans are not a concern for me. But even after landing a quality job I want to do a residency. The question is: is this a good idea? What are your thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.