Opinions on next Fall semester course load.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ChodeNode

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I've been lurking for about the past month and participated in only one other thread. This is my first as a starter.

I'm a full-time software developer. Last year, I took two 14-credit semesters, but they were all 100-200 level classes. This semester I'm only taking 11 credits. My wife and I expect our first baby on Valentines (hurray!). I intend to take only 8 credits (2 sciences) for Spring 2011 to ensure I have enough wiggle room to adapt to our new addition.

I'm trying to figure out how I should attempt to attack my course load for Fall 2011. I've taken Physics and will have Gen-chem and Bio knocked out by the end of Spring 2011. I'm a Physiology major so I must take A&P to progress in my major. I have all my non-science pre-req's completed already. I'm going to take o-chem that same semester. I'm not sure if I should limit myself to those sciences or not. The elective I'm taking right now (300-level) is killing me with reading.

I'm worried that even with a best-case scenario for an elective (one that turns out to be easy) that the amount of brain-power needed to do well will be more than I have time for.

Thanks for any opinions.

Members don't see this ad.

So if I'm reading this correctly, you plan to take ochem I and A&P I in the fall and one elective?

I'd actually be more concerned about the spring semester than the fall. By fall you will have a better sense of how your lives are going to change with a baby. (I don't have a baby so I'm not speaking from experience, just from what I've witnessed.) Working full-time and raising a newborn is a challenge for anybody. If your spouse is staying home, or you have full-time help, taking two classes this spring might be OK but I think it could also be overwhelming.