PA application quandary

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Stronghorn

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm a Microbiology grad (3.52GPA at UT, 4.0 at community college) from UTexas at Austin in 2012 and started looking into the path to become a PA. I've been a molecular biologist / lab manager for almost the whole time since I graduated. I started looking at pre-reqs for PA school and saw that 7 years is how old they want science courses to be. So that means my early courses like intro bio have already "expired" and then others will soon follow. I called up Baylor's PA department and what they said sounded more like they put that 7 year limit there so it isn't so long that people aren't science stupid now. However, if I've "been using my scientific knowledge as I have been with my research" that it should be noted and would be considered. I'm also missing anatomy, physiology, and 2 psychology courses as pre-reqs.

So finally my question is what do you guys suggest as the best strategy to take in the coming year+ in the application process? I have to study to take the GRE, take about a full semesters worth of pre-reqs, potentially re-take old pre-reqs, and potentially shadow a PA to gain more experience to enhance my application resume. Is there anything I'm missing or in any particular order you'd suggest I'd tackle first? I'm just recently unemployed so the possibilities are wide open at the moment (one of the reasons why I'm looking for a long term solution like PA school/jobs) while I look for another job to hold me over financially.

Members don't see this ad.