Paramedic to DO - pipe dream?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aesposito

Idiot paramedic premed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I've been a paramedic for a long time, got my MS and now I teach and do administrative stuff at a hospital-based EMS system in the Chicago area.

I've thought on and off for years of going to medical school to be an ER doc. I was a firefighter/paramedic for several years but the medical always appealed to me more than the fire side.

Anyone out there go to medical school after being a paramedic for some time? I'm 43 years old... am I fooling myself into thinking I'll like the ER as much as I loved the field?

I'd also have to go retake all my prereqs as I took them so long ago, my chances of doing well with the MCAT would be painfully slim.

Oh, and if you were wondering, I'm thinking DO instead of MD because I live five minutes from CCOM. Location, location, location.

Audrey

Members don't see this ad.

EMT/paramedic --> MD/DO is a very common transition for people and having the experience in the field is very important. It gives you a definite edge in the application process in my opinion.

Don't let your age stop you. TONS of DO students are non-trads and don't even start med school until they're in their 50's. Taking the pre-reqs will only take you a couple years right? You have time :)

I will say this though- as much as I am pro-DO, don't limit yourself to CCOM just because you're so close. The Chicago area is SO full of medical schools! Just definitely make sure you are solid on DO because some schools will really drill you on why you applied there. Some people will argue otherwise, but I personally think it's important to have good answers to "why DO?" during your interviews. Good luck deciding- it's a big change for sure!

Certainly not a pipe dream at all. There are many that are second career that go on to med school for one reason or another.