PASSED AUG 2018 NAPLEX--ADVICE!!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pharmacodynamic

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello SDNers

I have been using SDN for the longest time since pre-pharmacy (7 years ago) I wanted to give advice to anyone that will be taking the NAPLEX.

Honestly, everyone says this and I AM going to say this again, you cannot be as prepared no matter how much you studied. I used RXprep, tl;dr pharmacy blog, and Minimalist blog.

I honestly focused on CALCULATIONS, BIOSTATS, COMPOUNDING, BRAND/GENERIC HIV, SIDE EFFECTS for ONCOLOGY. The other topics I would just read and know brand generic(easy free points on the exam--TOP 300) and what line of therapy it is used for and also if its an alternative therapy. I would also focus on Labs/Monitoring chapter(know the underline/bolded).

There will be questions that you will not know and probably not even mentioned in the RXprep book, and I assumed those are the experimental questions.

I took the pre-naplex 3 months before the actually NAPLEX made a 48, then I studied on/off for the next 2 months. 3 weeks prior to my NAPLEX, I studied 6-7 hours a day. A week prior to my NAPLEX I decided to take my pre-naplex again and I made a 76. I knew that was a passing score, but I also heard that your NAPLEX can be 10 points + or - from that. So I amped up my studying and made sure I knew the "CORE 5 subjects" like the back of my hand and then reviewed at least other 3-4 disease states a day (just knowing drug therapy and the important underlined words in the RXprep book. The day before my NAPLEX, I just reviewed random topics and did a math quiz from RXprep made a 90% on the math quiz. (side note: I had the RXprep questions bank, did not do about 30 of the chapters quizzes only did important ones or ones I felt that might be my weakness).