PCAT books

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gapagirl

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am completely new to this, and reading the other threads about other review books have gotten me to panic. :( There's so many different views on the Kaplan and Barron's. :scared:

Should I get like 2010-2011 new edition books or does that not matter?

Members don't see this ad.

I am completely new to this, and reading the other threads about other review books have gotten me to panic. :( There's so many different views on the Kaplan and Barron's. :scared:

Should I get like 2010-2011 new edition books or does that not matter?

It shouldn't matter in my opinion. The contents would very likely be identical to the older editions.

Barron is a big no no. Kaplan is overkilled in some parts like biology, and verbal. Get Dr. Collins' materials. Once you take his test w/o sweating, u're set to ace the test. Thanks bye

I second fuji's post. IMO, Dr. Collins' is the best way to prepare for the exam. His exams are strikingly similar in content and format to the real exam. Kaplan is great if you are interested in learning the material ... well, some of the material since it is great for Biology, but minimal for other sections. I'll be surprised if I don't score a composite in the mid-80s from studying with his material. *cowers in fear in case the PCAT gods read this post*

Members don't see this ad :)
I never used Dr Collins, so I have no opinion on it, but...

STAY AWAY FROM BARRONS! (I feel so strongly on the subject that it had to be capitalized). This is my opinion, and my opinion only, but Barrons truly sucks. My biggest gripe with the book is that the "exams" are too easy and will give you false confidence if you try to use them to gauge your performance.

different versions of Kaplan are pretty much the same. Do not need to get the lastest one if you want to save money.