pharmacy or physical therapy?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ramenoodles

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm confused between these two fields.

Physical Therapy
pros: I like how interactive it is and how your physically working to help reduce the pain of a patient. I am an active person so I feel I will enjoy that. I also like how you're not looking at a screen all day. To me, the PT environment seems more people friendly.

Cons: pays less than pharmacy and requires the same amount of studying and I am not sure if hours are flexible.

Pharmacy
pros: flexible hours and pay is nice. Working as a floater is convenient.

cons: I worked as a pharm tech at a retail store before and I personally did't like the stressful environment, counting pills was draining and sometimes customers treat u like a slave while u perform 50 tasks at once.

Also, which one is more competitive and saturated?

Members don't see this ad.

Pharmacy
pros: flexible hours and pay is nice. Working as a floater is convenient.

Also, which one is more competitive and saturated?
If by “flexible hours” you mean working different hour shifts that vary on both weekdays and weekends week-to-week without you having any say because you’re only guaranteed 24-32 hours for a full time position, then yes, I guess you can consider the hours flexible.

If by “working as a floater is nice” you mean commuting 100 miles for a 4 hour shift at a different store each day is nice, then I guess you can consider being a floater a good gig.

If by “pay is nice” you mean that pharmacists make $60/hour but most can only get 24 hours per week due to the saturation making their annual salary <$80k with no benefits then I guess you can consider it a good paying job.