Pharmcas Question - Extracurricular Section?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PharmGirl381

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So, as I move forward with my pharmacy application, I just had a few questions about some things on Pharmcas. So I currently have a 3.81 GPA, but through pharmcas, I am pretty sure this gets converted to a 4.0. I just took my PCAT in July and scored 90th percentile. Also, I have been working at a pharmacy for a little over 2 years now (still not a certified technician though). I know these stats are pretty good, but I just had a few questions on the "Extracurricular" section for Pharmcas.
  • I don't have much volunteer experience at all. If I only had 3-4 volunteer/leadership/shadowing activities on Pharmcas, would that look bad on my application? I do not know what the average amount of activities people put in the extracurricular section, so if somebody could answer that I'd appreciate it!
  • Also, would I list job shadowing at a pharmacy under the extracurricular section?
  • Am I sending out my application late? I have almost everything finished I just have to edit my personal statement and finish up the extracurricular section on pharmcas.

Members don't see this ad.

Although I have no clue what the average amount of activities people put in extracurricular I had 7. Most of them were honor societies as only two of the seven were clubs.
Where to list pharmacy job shadowing- Honestly I have no idea. I would think it would be under work related experience if you can put no pay on it. I can't remember if they ask if its "volunteer" or paid. Again I am not too sure on this. I have shadowed at a pharmacy but only for 8-10 hours and didn't bother putting it on since I work in retail.