PhD student contemplating medical school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Seltzer9

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, first post here.

Quick stats: 28 yrs old, 3.6 undergrad GPA at a competitive tech/science school, 4.0 grad GPA

I am a PhD student entering my last year of graduate school in a non-health-related, quantitative field. I am doing a lot of thinking about my career, and have decided that academia is not for me. I love learning, but I don't enjoy the open-endedness of academic research. The logical thing for me to do is look for teaching or industry jobs. However, none of them excite me when I think about doing them. On the other hand, the idea of practicing medicine has been worming its way into my mind and I find myself thinking and reading about it more and more. I've started volunteering at a local hospital, and hope to shadow some doctors and PA's too, if I can find the time as I try to graduate. PA is another option I am considering, weighing the pros (fewer years of school, less debt) and cons (glass ceiling?) against those of med school.

I love the idea of helping sick people get better, or at least holding off disease or pain. I get a thrill out of feeling helpful for that, even when I'm handing out water and blankets during my volunteer shift. I envy the doctors and nurses who get to do more than that to help. If there were a way to combine intellectual stimulation and that feeling... that would be becoming a doctor, right?